Forums Latest Members
  1. dbane007 Jan 17, 2017

I saw a sales post late last night for a 1960 2998-4. It was listed by"thewatchguy" and post has disappeared. I didnt get a good chance to look at it as it was midnight. But this morning I did a quick search and i think I found the fellows website. Here is the watch in question.

http://www.thewatchguy.com/pages/FORSALE.html

upload_2017-1-17_12-8-39.png

Opinions appreciated.

2. gemini4 Hoarder Of Speed et alia Jan 17, 2017

I messaged the seller and he doesn't know what happened to his listing. Perhaps the Mods do

3. oddboy Zero to Grail+2998 In Six Months Jan 17, 2017

I'd check out the rest of his site to get a feel for who he is.

From the main page:

"I've been collecting and repairing watches for many years. During that time I have put in thousands of hours learning everything I possibly could about the subject. Early on I realized that finding information, reference material and supplies was difficult and time consuming. I mean, it's out there to be found... it's just scattered... Assuming you are probably searching for the same things I was searching for, I decided to start this site, and compile that information in one place to share my knowledge with others."

I'd also be curious to know why the listing was removed. He was a brand new member with one post when I saw the ad last night.. So there are some issues that should be explored further before dropping that kind of money.

Otherwise, it all looks ok from what I saw last night.. Other than the bracelet, and the "aftermarket" crystal... do your homework and buy the seller.

mebest likes this.
  4. calalum Jan 17, 2017

The watch looks ok. Not spectacular. The price seems optimistic to me, but they don't come up publicly for sale so where it might land is anyone's guess. At those numbers I would want to see the watch in person before moving ahead unless the guy is widely verified as a good person and honorable seller. JMHO.