Forums Latest Members
  1. sterlamb May 14, 2014

Hi! I'm a watch newbie desperately searching for a Seamaster from 1974 for my boyfriend's 40th birthday. I've been trying to form an elementary omega education in my spare time, but feel so overwhelmed. Thank you for these boards/forums as they have been very helpful. I live in NYC but prices are high and watch shops/booths have either been unfriendly or with little selection. Hence, EBAY!

I was hoping for original dial. I'm against facelifts (for me and my loved ones) and feel sorta the same way about watches. But because my budget is around $700 I realize it probably won't be in mint condition.

Would love thoughts on the following two:

1. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-197...?pt=Wristwatches&hash=item4ad54984aa#shpCntIdPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

2. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Omega-Seama...atch-With-New-Lifetime-Warranty-/131186677404Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

AND-- is it worth to check out the f300hz? My boyfriend is a musician so I like the whole tuning fork concept, especially because of its place in omega history. But in case I bought one on EBAY that needed work (as in, NOT as advertised), would it be difficult to get fixed in NYC without costing $$$$?

THANK YOU for any tips etc...

2. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member May 14, 2014

A lot depends on his tastes. Both watches look very nice to me, but for different reasons.

The first one is in original condition. It probably came from an estate or collection. This is what collectors call a "tool" watch. It may have been used as an everyday watch by a professional person, who may or may not have maintained it properly. The price being asked is fair, IMO, but you are taking a bit of a chance here. A good service, if needed, would run you $100 to $200.