Forums Latest Members
  1. Cannop Apr 8, 2011

Hi everyone, I recognise a few names on here from various other fora I'm a member of :).
    Having an Omega in my collection I thought it a good idea to join a dedicated forum for the marque.
    I have a Speedmaster ref: 3523.30 which people seem to either love or hate. It was a conscious decision for me to go for the 3523.30 over the more popular moonwatch, the thing that swung it for me was the amazement at how they managed to cram all the complications into this model - day, date, month, chrono and a 24hr hand to boot! I had to have one. I hunted around for a while and found myself one at a reasonable price. As with every watch I buy if the history is unknown I will get it serviced as soon as possible as I tend to hang on to my watches. In fact to date I have never sold a watch - I've bought quite a few though ;)!
    I know this threads useless without pictures but I have only had the watch in my possesion for about two weeks since I bought it in November. The watch is away at STS having the full treatment, after a disasterous 86 days with a previous watchmaker who returned it to me in broken. Once it's back with me (about another four weeks I believe) I'll post some pictures.

TedG954 likes this.
  2. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Apr 8, 2011

I know what you mean with all the complications, those triple dates are amazing value considering what Patek or Vacheron charge for a similarly complicated piece ;)

Probably is a difficult watch to work on though, what's the base movement on those, 7751?

I think the polarizing aspect is more just due to the fact that Speedmaster enthusiasts are about as serious as Rolex Submariner enthusiasts and they all identify with the Moonwatch, so the triple-date is facing the same kind of "usurping the classic" type problem that the new Rolex Submariner Ceramic is from the old sub fans.

3. Cannop Apr 8, 2011