Forums Latest Members

The Red Sub...Help??....Many thanks in advance...

1. mandancing Jul 4, 2019

Hi there,
    I am a newbie here, so apologies for any faux pas in advance that I may make. Also, many thanks in advance for any small pieces of advice you can give me from your invaluable collective experience here. I'm based in London, UK, and am interested in the following watch. I know these are full of minefields but have always loved the Red Sub. One is coming up to auction soon and have been trying to figure out whether I should put a bid in on it.

I can see that the hands are new, and the insert is new and I am sure other people here will comment on other things, which is why I am here. The auction house says it's a Mk VI and apparently 1973, so not sure if that matches with look and series numbers (given below)?

Also, I was wondering if this particular model is supposed to have had sharp high crown guards or should have lower ones. From the research I've been doing on it it appears not, but was wondering if anyone can confirm it one way or the other, as I am learning. Trying to get more photos of it. In terms of provenance it has apparently come from a pawnbrokers. I realise that many of these watches will not be fully original, or rarely, but want to know if this is still an okay one, or a real dog, as they say.

Also, is the body correct for the dial, I guess is my main question? The dial looks good to me when I looked at it in person, but as I am new to this, I would happily defer to the experts here for any comment at all, although you don't have all the photos. Any small help would be appreciated..

Here is a photo below and the information relating to it. Would greatly appreciate any help on whether I should put a bid in, or give it a wide birth, knowing that some of you here are super well versed in the Red Sub.

Many thanks in advance.
    Regards, Chris

Here's the general information that's been given....