Forums Latest Members

The Great Big Introductions Thread

1. Trev The Architect Staff Member Mar 24, 2011

I'll start things off...

Hello, my name is Trevor, and I have a mechanical watch fetish. I'm a designer by trade building mostly websites, and working with various e-commerce platforms. I live on a sailing yacht with my wife and Bengal Cat.

My previous watch was a Rolex Datejust w/silver dial, domed bezel. I sold this one, but always regretted it. My current is a Seamaster Chronograph 2598.80 (which I've just changed over to a 2599.80/blue bezel). My next will likely be a Planet Ocean (or perhaps ceramic Submariner).

I'm an admin/mod on the forum along with a couple of others. I'm also mostly responsible for the design you're using now (hope you like it).

We wanted to put together a watch enthusiast community with a good/usable design, run by fully competent sysadmins on great hardware, and powered by a modern forum (software) platform.

Hope you enjoy your stay!

Cheers :)

2. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Mar 24, 2011

Hi I'm Ashley, I'm a Linux systems engineer and handle the back-end operations of the site.

I don't have a wife and my cat died two years ago. And it wasn't a Bengal, it was a socially inept Siamese.

I got into watches with a TAG Heuer F1, which died, I was given a quote for over $2,000 to repair it (a $300 watch) so I purchased an Omega Seamaster Divers Chronograph instead, and since then have also picked up and completely rebuilt a Rolex Submariner 1680 and a vintage Omega Constellation Pie-Pan.

My next watch changes every day of the week, but could be a Rolex Milgauss GV, or a Patek 5036, or an Omega Hour Vision, or a vintage Omega Speedmaster Pro (Cal 321).

We hope you guys enjoy it, and we really are open to other brands even though its an Omega forum in name, I personally consider Omega and Rolex to be two sides of the same coin and have a deep appreciation for both.

Look forward to meeting the rest of you!