Testing What I've Learned in 2 Short Months

Hello, I have posted one thread before but I haven't properly introduced myself. I asked my wife 7 years ago to marry me, she got a nice diamond ring and she surprised me with an Omega Speadmaster, Professional, Co-Axial, Chronometer, 300M. I had been researching Omega watches like it for over 3 years so she must have noticed.

My daughters are grown, her son is in college and we can finally start buying nice stuff that we enjoy. I'll be retiring in about 5 years and ready to enjoy the finer things in life.

Here is an ebay watch that has a Buy It Now price of $ 1,565 and the writeup says:

DESCRIPTION:
BRAND: OMEGA
MODEL/REFERENCE NUMBER: CAL. 501
CASE MATERIAL: 18K ROSE GOLD
BRACELET MATERIAL: LEATHER
CASE SIZE: 33mm X 39mm (NOT INCLUDING CROWN)
Omega - Face.jpg Omega Back.jpg Omega Buckle.jpg

I'm basing this on what I have learned from you here on this forum. What I think is I'm seeing:

1) The "S" on Seamaster seems off, the bottom of the S doesn't seem right
2) Its listed as Cal 501 but "Chronometer" isn't indicated on the dial. Shouldn't it be?
3) The buckle seems to have the symbol indented instead of looking like it was attached on top of the buckle.

Did I get any of this right? I'll be ready to pull the trigger on something like this sometime this year and trying to confirm what I think I know.

I probably won't have much of a collection (I know, famous last words) just want to add a vintage 18k Seamaster with a 501 Cal. in good shape. I would rather have few quality watches than several okay watches.

As always, I'll be checking the Private Sales here on the forum.

Thanks in advance!

1) The dial has been repainted which is why the text is off, the lower text in particular - note the lack of Swiss Made text.
2) 501 is not chronometer rated so it shouldn't be mentioned on either dial or movement.
3) The buckle is probably a modern plated example, available until recently for ~£20.