Forums Latest Members

Temptation - Seamaster waffle dial and other curios

1. Wyatt66 Jan 15, 2018

I’m new to vintage watches, still learning how to fish, but like actually fishing, impatient, impulsive and sometimes doing things I shouldn’t. It’s like a bad habit - staying up late, spending money I shouldn’t be spending on things I don’t really understand..... maybe need some rehab.....

I came across this interesting looking 1954 Seamaster with a waffle dial and a cal. 354 bumper. It was a reasonable amount of money, but I didn’t reel it in without letting it fight me. I can’t find any examples of the same hour markers on any pictures I have seen. Can anyone shed any light?

I also spotted a few other interesting items - again, none cheap as chips. The 18K UG put me off because it looked like someone stood it on its lugs and sat on it. The 9K Eterna-Matic also grabbed my attention but the crystal was cracked, and finally another old Seamaster, I don’t recall which movement, but a nice patina.

I can’t work out how to put the photos in the right place in this post, so i’ve just added them using the Add Photos button. I’m also struggling to rotate the images more than 45 degrees on this tablet, so unfortunately a couple of them are upside down. Seems I’m new to other things too. Sorry about that.

A888FDB2-AAD0-4BEC-8F4C-AB3059FD707B.jpeg 02B14A95-6011-4B39-A99A-579058CF9630.jpeg 626EF16A-18D6-4A07-8178-567921E5A8E7.jpeg
    jumpingsecond likes this.
  2. ConElPueblo Jan 16, 2018

I think it looks just fine :)

I have seen the markers before and it is an uncommon dial, especially with the textured dial - a very good find. The case looks very nice and in very reasonably shape - the crown is original too, as are the hands. Even the bracelet, while not an Omega item, is fairly desirable in it's own right. Not hugely valuable, but still.

You can tell from the logo that it's a fairly early Seamaster, pre-1954.