Forums Latest Members

Stuck newbie - diver shortlist conundrum 300/BB58/PO

1. Bob Windowsill May 10, 2019

Hi from a first post lurker.

I’m treating myself to my first ‘proper watch’, with a £6k budget. For context, I’m a 45 y/o business consultant that visits clients occasionally, although I purposely avoid dressing too formally. I won’t be diving.

I tried to do this alone with lots of internet research and a visit to a dealer, but now I’m stuck!

First, I couldn't decide between the black Omega PO (below) and a blue Omega AT.

I’d now like both, and I can see how a blue AT and a black diver could be an excellent two watch pairing. I guess this is how collectors get started…

Unfortunately, the AT and PO are £4-4.5k each whereas say the Omega Diver 300 and Tudor BB 58 can be had for £2.5-3k.

(I considered pre-owned, but I can’t really find any deals and I don’t know which sources are and are not reliable. That makes me a bit nervous. Any suggestions on this front always useful or indeed the best for new sources).

So, I’m now pondering a stretch budget to obtain both the AT and either a Diver 300 or Tudor BB 58. I’ll regret not getting the PO I’m sure, but I don’t need two divers should I swap the AT out for the PO. I can't justify the expense of an AT and a PO.

Is anybody able to provide any views about below divers? I provide my own impressions but bear in mind, these are coming from a newbie!

Diver 300
    Lovely, hence on my short list. Possibly a bit blingy and perhaps a bit too ‘obvious’ and [or] in your face (for me). Perhaps it’s the gloss bezel, which I realise is ceramic and has a purpose.

PO
    I felt this to be more contemporary and cleaner/fresher than the diver, yet it still felt classic insofar as it would probably survive the years better as fashions change. A nice balance between classy and fun.

Black Bay