Forums Latest Members

Stories from the Front Lines (✨COVID-19 Healthcare Workers only: posting rules imposed)

1. BenBagbag Mar 22, 2020

Figured we have a few medical providers on here and we can share our stories. This chat is not designed for speculation about what will be, or stories we are hearing from other sources. First-hand accounts only please. Tell us where you are if possible, and what your role is. (Here is the thread for general COVID-19 discussions.)

I'm a volunteer EMT in NYC.

I was on the first suspected COVID-19 call in my community in early March (Back when there were only 100 cases in New York State). A little kid looking like he was suffering from flu-like symptoms. "Would you have called us if she just had the flu?" No. "Okay, call your doctor and stay home." We did not step into the house until we figured out what was going on. "Was she in contact with another positive case?" No. Okay, we still have to do an assessment even if we don't transport. I put on a full PPE kit: N95, faceshield, gown, hairnet and shoe covers and was the only one who entered the residence to assess the kid. She had a fever but no other critical symptoms that would require hospitalization. It was chaotic as the pediatrician did not know if the hospital would test the kid and said that the hospital would not even accept the patient (this was false - this hospital legally cannot turn a patient down). It was unclear where testing would be done and by who. We've got medical Control on the phone and our medical director. Kid would not be referred for testing because the testing was so limited and they were saving it for people with confirmed contact with a positive case. Kid was never tested to my knowledge. At that time there was no buzz in the air of hospitals being overwhelmed. No mention of flattening the curve. No social distancing.