Forums Latest Members
  1. sevenhelmet Sep 4, 2017

I have an embarrassing problem...

I removed one side of the bracelet on my Speedmaster Pro (with no difficulty) to run it over a demagnetizer, and now I can't get the spring bar to compress enough inside the end-link to re-install the bracelet. The spring bar does not appear to be bent, and by itself I can compress it enough to easily fit it between the lugs. Yet for some reason, it will not compress enough while inside the end-link to get both sides down between the lugs. The end link fits between the lugs (it was in there until an hour ago and came out no problem), so that isn't the issue either.

-I have tried 3 separate spring bars in case one or two were defective, and they are all behaving the same way.

-Tried a very tiny amount of lube on the outside of the spring bar, thinking that it was binding inside the end-link somehow, but no change.

-Used as much force as I felt safe on the spring bar, but it's like it's bottoming out in a different place when installed in the end-link vs. by itself when it fits into the lugs no problem. Weird.

I've done plenty of strap changes on this watch, and until today, they took 2 minutes or less. This one side is kicking my butt for some unknown reason. I now have a Speedy bracelet that I can't install. What on Earth is going on here?

2. Shailor Sep 4, 2017

Can you compress them to the needed length outside of the head?

3. sevenhelmet Sep 4, 2017

Yep. I can even put the spring bars in by themselves, and compress them past the edges of the bracelet end-links when not between the lugs (e.g. to use a NATO strap, for example). But when I try to put all 3 together (spring bars in bracelet between lugs), they mysteriously won't compress that last 0.5mm or so (like they're bottomed out already). Went ahead and pulled off the other side, same problem. This watch recently came back from servicing... did they do something weird to it?