Forums Latest Members
  1. jconly May 13, 2013

So I have my eyes on this guy: http://www.ebay.com/itm/OMEGA-VINTA...052877643?pt=Wristwatches&hash=item19db446f4bPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

[​IMG][​IMG]

Why? Well, I'm specifically after a watch from 1985 for personal reasons, and as much as I'd LOVE an original Speedymoon (1985 Limted Moonphase,) it's just a bit out of my budget.

So, I came across this, but was skeptical it was from the correct vintage.
    My research is leading me to believe it's from 1992, but I'd love some more expert advice as I'm new to this.
    I've deducted the reference # to be ST 345.0808

Serial Number: 48270524
    I've seen the 48****** fall in different places on different charts. Some date it to '85, while others date it to '92.
    I have read that Omega didn't start engraving numbers into the case until 1991, but they started with serial number 53000000. This one has it on the case. More reason to believe it's from 1992, despite the number difference.

Cal. 863:
    Looks to be correct. Looks like this was the last year that it was offered in the Rose Gold. They switched to yellow "after 1992," and in 1996 to Cal. 1863 all together.

Case Back:
    Case back contains "Apollo XI" engraved upon it. Since its introduction in 1980, it was a numbered, but not limited edition. In 1985, it became an option to have a non-numbered version without the "Apollo XI." So, is the back original to the watch or not? The seller says it is due to the red marking, and that the watch has never been opened. This I know nothing about, but it seems to be legitimate.

Bracelet: