Forums Latest Members

Speedmaster Racing Dial MK II - New Arrival - Advice Wanted

1. Northernman Lemaniac Jan 6, 2015

Hi!
    Bought this one on a (local) auction last night. It will require some TLC for sure, but I was wondering if I have missed something important? I am not an expert on these Speedmasters.

I have a full return policy on the purchase so if anything turns out bad I will get a full refund.

My plan (for now) is to have it fully cleaned/serviced including a new mineral glass (with integrated Tachy Scale).
    I might consider having the case professionally refreshed, but no decision on this until I have it in hand.

All input appreciated!:thumbsup:
    01.jpg 02.jpg 03.jpg 04.jpg 05.jpg 06.jpg 07.jpg 08.jpg 09.jpg 10.jpg 11.jpg 12.jpg 13.jpg

oddboy and marturx like this.
  2. marturx Jan 6, 2015

I looked at that one too. A very good specimen in my eyes. I would never dream of touching the case. Leave it as is.

If it wasn´t because I already have one, I would have made a move on it. Instead I got myself a very nice CB-case 105.012-66, my first purchase for 2015! :)

Northernman likes this.
  3. pascs Jan 6, 2015

To be honest I think that looks really good :thumbsup:

With a full service, new crystal, pushers and crown it should be a great piece. For now I'd be tempted to leave the case as it is, its very difficult to get a good finish when refinishing these cases

Northernman likes this.
  4. Northernman Lemaniac Jan 6, 2015

I tend to agree on leaving the case "as is". ;) I assume a good cleaning will freshen its appearance a lot compared to the images.
    Strange that the auction house does not even bother to wipe of fingerprints before their photo session!? ::confused2::