Forums Latest Members

Speedmaster Pro power reserve question

1. Low Level Flyer May 18, 2018

Hi All,

Apologies if this has been asked before. So I recently bought a brand new Speedmaster Professional Moonwatch (wanted one for years and finally pulled the trigger).

Absolutely love it but just wondering about the power reserve. So since purchasing it last week I’ve been testing the reserve as if there were any faults I figure it’s best to get them sorted out under warranty sooner rather than later. On it's first full wind (without using the chronograph) it managed 51hrs before stopping (so I’m pretty sure I’m fully winding it). On the second full wind it only managed 41hrs - however this time around I started the chronograph and let it continue to run the whole period.

I’m by no means an expert on the mechanics of the movement but is it normal for the power reserve to be so largely affected by the starting/stopping/continual running of the chronograph?

Many thanks for your replies in advance.

2. mdgrwl May 18, 2018

Yep sounds about right.

3. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. May 18, 2018

Correct

Remember the Chrono does not take power away faster. But running the Chrono requires more torque to function as the power gets lower the torque drops. So runningnthe Chrono will cause the watch to stop sooner but stopping the Chrono May restart the watch.

4. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker May 19, 2018

Perfectly normal - if you let the watch run down with the chronograph running, and after it stops turn the chronograph off, the watch will start ticking again. If you then let it run down and add the time it ran in both cases together, it will very likely still equal 51 hours that you had on the initial test.