Forums Latest Members

Speedmaster Pro 1499 clasp failure

1. jaymyms Apr 11, 2016

Hey all, so I have a Speedmaster from the late 90's with a 1499 bracelet. I love the bracelet, taper, and the fact that it never seems to show scratches.

However - a handful of times now, the clasp has popped open on me. It snaps shut tight, and it hasn't pulled open on me, it's popped open. It happens when I clap at a sporting event, or once when I hit the steering wheel in a fit of road rage. (some folks just shouldn't be allowed to operate motor vehicles)

I don't wear the bracelet tight, and like I said, when I put it on in the morning, it's a nice tight snap. Is this problem common, or does my bracelet potentially need some work? Thanks in advance.
    Jay

2. Canuck Apr 11, 2016

Key words! You don't wear the bracelet tight! THAT'S your problem! The bracelet is spending too much time, too low on your wrist, where the wrist bends! When you bend your wrist against the tension of the bracelet, this imposes tremendous strain on the bracelet, and the buckle. All that, plus with he bracelet flopping around all the time, it's life expectancy is about half what it would be when worn tight enough to stay above the wrist! Your choice how you wear it, but suffer the consequences!

3. Flingit1200s Apr 11, 2016

Seems there are instructions for adjusting certain Omega clasps that aren't tight enough. Maybe someone with a better memory can supply a link. I adjusted mine myself by just observing how the clasp operated and giving it a slight bend in the correct spot. Will keep looking for proper instructions. BTW I wore mine loose and it would still pop open.

4. jaymyms Apr 11, 2016

I can't see that being the reason. When I go to clap at a Jets game, I'm standing up, and my hands are up, so if anything, the watch would slide towards my elbow, not where my wrist bends.