Forums Latest Members
  1. TomGW Aug 20, 2016

This is a 'vintage' Omega issue only insofar as it started with my purchase, a few years ago, of a 145.012 that had been recased into a new, service case by Omega but the deal included all the original parts. Naturally I had it returned to original, which left me with the service case, hands etc, which started this project. With these in my parts box, together with a Snoopy dial that I'd picked up very cheaply on eBay I was on the lookout for a suitable movement and bought a loose 1861 from a seller on WUS. I have recently had it assembled and it looks great, but the movement is running approx 20% too fast - 72 mins in an hour / Chrono records an extra12 secs per min.
    The guy who assembled it for me has checked the amplitude at 280 and is mystified. He doesn't have an Omega parts account and isn't keen to pull it apart. Obviously I have no knowledge of the history of the movement. It isn't old (serial 77xxxxxxx) and was described as 'unused'.
    Can anyone give me any idea what is wrong?

2. fzhu052 Aug 20, 2016

Magnetized?

3. TomGW Aug 20, 2016

Would that not have resulted in a low amplitude? This one is normal and gives a reading that would suggest well within 10s/day.

4. alam Aug 20, 2016

Speedmaster movements don't have problems, they may require fine tuning now and then... :)

5. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Aug 21, 2016

You bought a movement and had it assembled into a watch - was it serviced? If not, there's your answer...

Spacefruit likes this.
  6. TomGW Aug 21, 2016