Forums Latest Members

Speedmaster Mark II Bracelet Clasp Won't Close (1159 Bracelet)

1. garbagemouth Mar 9, 2019

Hi OF,

Figures my first post would be one asking for help.

I have a Speedmaster Mark II that I want to gift my dad. It's all ready, minus a non-closing clasp on the original 1159 bracelet.

Everything looks okay. The clasp doesn't seem broken or missing any parts. Everything folds as it should but it simply doesn't lock despite squeezing the ends together.

I'm not 100% sure how clasps actually click shut. I tried searching to see if there was any information online, but I came up empty-handed. From photos of working 1159 bracelets, mine seems to check out. Same look, no missing parts.

Below are photos of the bracelet and the clasp. The ones with my fingers (sorry) show the clasp being pushed together.

I'm a novice when it comes to watches Is it a matter of bending something into place? Or would 10 minutes at a watch repair take care of this?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Photo album
    https://imgur.com/a/v0GChfK

Obligatory vanity shot
    [​IMG]

Clasp before closing
    [​IMG]

Squeezing the two sections together
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Side view
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. chipsotoole Mar 9, 2019

Well it has certainly been through the wars. Is it possible it's not original to the bracelet? I messed around a while back with what I thought were essentially identical clasps in every way , but it turned out they only worked with their given bracelets.

CPRwatch likes this.
  3. simonsays Mar 9, 2019

lando, MRC, fskywalker and 2 others like this.
  4. Davidt Mar 9, 2019

Great profile pic.

@simonsays post above should help you out.

5. JanV Mar 9, 2019

It looks like you have the bracelet too much tightened into (moved too much forward inside) the clasp. If you move the clasp too much in the clasp the thickness of the bracelet doesn’t allow the clasp to close anymore. Try to move the pin for the bracelet a few steps back and try again.