Forums Latest Members
  1. VanDamme NOT "The Muscles from Brussels" Jan 13, 2016

Good day gents,

Please assist me in evaluating the below Speedmaster that has been offered to me. Pictures from the seller:

IMG_0144.JPG

IMG_0142.JPG

IMG_0141.JPG

IMG_0143 - Copy.JPG
    A guy offered this speedy to me as a '66 Speedmaster with a cal 861 movement. I'm no expert but I know that is incorrect. What I can pick up from the pictures is that the case, bezel (I think) and caseback are from a 105.003-65 as noted by the caseback reference and the straight lugs. The movement and dial however do not fit this due to the serial number starting 32xxxxxx and also the fact that there is no applied Omega logo (initial observation). If I go according to Speedmaster101's quick serial reference, then the movement belongs to as early a watch as the 145.022-71 while another reference I found on the Maddox site cites a date as early as '73.

I must apologise to all the members who offer advice and assistance as I have not done as much homework as I should have before posting but the offer has caught me unawares and I don't have much time to make up my mind. I will however continue to research by myself tonight to make amends for this.

It is being offered at approximately US$1800. The seller has apparently installed new pushers, hands and bezel (I assume photo is of original bezel and not yet the replacement) but will provide me with all the original parts that have been removed. I have requested a pictures of all the parts but I am still awaiting this. No bracelet included. Is there enough value here to warrant taking a chance on it? My head says no because I'm not educated enough and want a decent example but my OF-bug-bitten-heart says buy everything that is offered to me to accumulate as much as I can.

Thank you in advance for looking and helping.

2. abrod520 Jan 13, 2016