Forums Latest Members
  1. Freedom7 Jul 11, 2018

Hi all: I have a Speedmaster First Omega in Space and I would like to have that spade subdial hand switched out for a traditional white stick hand to match the other two subdial hands (like the original 2998-4 Speedy). I would also want the replacement hand to be an Omega OEM part.

Can I get some recommendations for a reputable watch person to do this? I live outside of Boston, but can also send it out if necessary.

Thanks very much, MIke

2. gdupree Jul 11, 2018

Amen. The different hand on the seconds subdial has always bugged me.

If you are able to find the hand yourself, literally any watchmaker should be able to replace the hand. Members around here could surely help you with the part number for those hands, or you could just search around and I doubt it's too hard to find... If you want the watch maker to find the part for you, then you probably need to find a watch maker with an Omega parts account.

Edit: Here's a single hand on ebay currently. https://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-Om...469019?hash=item4b485afa1b:g:qZEAAOSwuyNbEYP-Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

3. Donn Chambers Jul 11, 2018

If you do this, just make sure you are outside the warranty period, because doing this will void the Omega warranty. I've never been upset over the choice of the metal hand on the 60 seconds sub-dial. I like that it disappears relative to the white chronograph hands. Omega has done something similar on numerous chronographs in the past (flightmasters and Speedmasters), so it doesn't bother me in the least. But everyone has their own likes/dislikes.

I'm just glad they didn't make all the subdial hands metal.

4. Freedom7 Jul 11, 2018

Thank you!

5. ac106 Jul 11, 2018

European Fine Watch Boston
    Shreve Crump and Low Boston (Omega AD)
    Yuri on Newbury Street Boston
    Watertown Watch & Clock Repair (actually in newton)