Forums Latest Members

Speedmaster 3570.50 Chronograph Question

1. Matt-C Sep 6, 2014

Hi all

I recently bought a new speedmaster moonwatch, I've been lusting after this model for a couple of years now and following it's update I took the opportunity to grab the last 3570.50 at my AD before their new stock came in. I have to say I'm loving having it on my wrist but I have a couple of questions regarding the operation of the chronograph.

It states in the online user video never to push the reset pusher while the chronograph is operating - Can someone educate me as to what and where this causes damage? - obviously I'm never going to try this but would like to understand the movement more.

Secondly is it also an issue to press the reset pusher on a movement that has already been 'reset' i.e pressing the reset pusher twice in succession?

And finally I've noticed on mine occasionally and it is very occasionally when I push the start pusher the chronograph second hand 'jumps' to around the 0.8sec mark and then continues moving normally. It this normal or is it indicative of a fault?

Cheers
    Matt

2. dennisthemenace Hey, he asked for it! Sep 6, 2014

the simple answer to your first question is you can't cause any damage by trying to reset the chrono when it's running. you would damage your thumb first. as to your second question, I don't think it's normal for the chrono second hand to jump, but from what I gather, it's not exactly an uncommon fault on new speedmasters.

3. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Sep 7, 2014

Third question first....please read this to understand how a horizontally coupled chronograph works:

http://omegaforums.net/threads/chronographs-vertical-and-horizontal-coupling.5539/