Forums Latest Members
  1. hjung1224 Jun 22, 2014

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here have a rather (could-be) dumb question. My father just turned to his 60 and I want to buy him a decent watch. As many newbies usually are, I'm torn between Omega and Rolex. To be specific, Omega DeVille 37mm and Rolex DateJust 36mm. I think they both look equally stunning although the Rolex is several thousand dollars more expensive. The biggest challenge I'm having is that I can barely find reviews on Omega DeVille watches. Only information I'm having about the DeVille is my first impression on the appearance and the general reputation of the Omega brand. My father's a professor and usually wears semi-suits. Also, he likes hiking and travels to other countries once or twice a year. Can you give me some help? Thx all.

2. ctime3 Jun 22, 2014

The Deville's was introduced as a sister to the seamaster. I personally think it has a more vintage look to it. I do like them. I do not own on though. The sapphire crystal is strong.

It was the first omega watch to house the 8500 movement and the first to have the co-axial option. I think it has proven itself. If your father prefers Roman numerals there are great options. If he wants a non complicated watch the hour vision is great. There are great chronos as well. The bracket is very comfortable too.

There are also hour vision models that have a cool "Mad Men" look to them too.

The he experts can weigh in if I am off on opinions.

Charlie

3. ulackfocus Jun 23, 2014

Boy, wouldn't it be great to have pictures of each watch?

4. ctime3 Jun 23, 2014

Good call. I definitely have the time. stay tuned

5. ctime3 Jun 23, 2014

Here are pictures of the hour vision. I would ask these forum members if they can help you find a DeVille. Personally I would buy one with the 8500 movement or 9300. The Tresor is coming out soon but that is a manual wind -master co axial.

image.jpg
  6. hjung1224 Jun 23, 2014