Forums Latest Members

Some insight/guidance on a 1960s Zenith

1. MattUK Dec 18, 2013

Hi all,
    I'm new to the whole vintage watch scene, and I'm looking for some insight on the following watch that I've secured (going to check it before finalising the buy):
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/STUNNING-...D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

Is the value close to the asking price? And anything that I should look out for?
    Or any other alarm bells?

Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

2. BGBG Dec 18, 2013

Hi its a nice locking watch I would say the case has been polished, and the dial cleaned , and it looks like the crown has been replaced , I would say the watch on ebay.uk sold for at least 2000 euro to much, I never seen this model sell ever for such an amount .

MattUK likes this.
  3. MattUK Dec 18, 2013

Thanks.
    I was hoping that it was a high price due to the gold, or being rare, etc - I guess Im being a bit naive

4. Dablitzer Dec 18, 2013

I don't know much about Zenith like LouS does, but I can tell from these pictures it's over polished and the dial doesn't look original. Also I wouldn't pay anywhere near that price for it. Just my two cents!

MattUK likes this.
  5. Gavin It's the quiet ones you have to 'watch' out for. Dec 18, 2013

Like Lou had said in your wtb, it's a redial and case is polished. I just sold a similar central seconds unpolished example at less than a third of that asking price so this one is excessively high.

MattUK likes this.
  6. MMMD unaffiliated curmudgeonly absurdist & polyologist Dec 18, 2013