Forums Latest Members
  1. Brad Cancian Jun 16, 2012

Hi all,

I am new to the forum and to watch collecting in general, and though I do own a current model Omega Speedmaster I am a newbie when it comes to 60's vintage Omegas. I am currently looking at purchasing my first Constellation, and have been trawling the online auction sites (I know, gasp). I have read a number of the articles on Constellations over at http://omega-constellation-collectors.blogspot.com.au/ and I think I have just enough information and knowledge now to pose a considerable danger to my wallet :). I am currently looking at the following auction over on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VINTAGE-OME...istwatches&hash=item1c2758234b#ht_1296wt_1397Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

I love the pie-pan cross-hair dial configuration, and the hidden crown looks slick. Based on my scare knowledge so far, here are my thoughts:

What I like:
    - Case number is 168.004. Case / crown looks to me to be correct for this case number (i.e. the lugs and hidden crown seem to be configured correctly for this case number, I think).
    - Caliber is 561. This is correct for this case number according to http://www.omegawatches.com/spirit/history/vintage-omegas/vintage-watches-database
    - The remainder of the markings on the mechanism look to be correct.
    - The pie pan dial looks to have suffered some water damage (?). Whilst this damage seems limited, it suggests the watch has its original dial and hasn't been refinished.
    - The watch seems to pass the "MOY" test, and I think it has the correct serif fonts.
    - The hands and markers seem to be the correct configuration and size. Though the serial number dates this watch to 1964, there are no "T" markings on either side of the "Swiss Made" marking, which I believe is correct for this dial / hand combination.
    - The date window looks to have the correct bevelled edge configuration.