Forums Latest Members

Some advice for a watch newbie with buyer’s remorse

1. degminsec Nov 1, 2017

Hi all. Wondering if I could get some advice from the community, as I’m new to the watch world, and I’m sure others have made similar mistakes when getting started. Somehow I got the bug (started reading hodinkee, lurking on these forums) and decided it was time to get big boy watch. Luckily my 40th was coming up, and I have a very loving and supportive wife. After several months of obsessive reading and researching, I decided I should be an omega man. My dad has worn his submariner religiously every day since before I was born, so I was drawn to the Seamaster 300 master co-axial, as it reminded me of that but it was different enough to feel like my own. In fact, I really was interested in the trilogy edition coming out - and got on the list at my local boutique. But I grew impatient (of course) and saw a deal on the Seamaster 300 master coaxial on a very reputable online seller (rhymes with “down and pal-of-her”), was in pristine condition, and heck it was free shipping and free returns if I didn’t like it, as long as I don’t take the sticker off.

Well... long story short, I took the sticker off. And now that I’ve been wearing it for a few weeks, I can say that I love looking at the watch, but I just don’t love wearing it. I find it cumbersome, thick (doesn’t fit under some of my shirt cuffs at work), a bit too shiny for my taste, etc.

So, what’s a newbie that got too excited to do? Amazingly, the retailer is willing to take it back, but with a hefty restocking fee, and for store credit only. Meanwhile, I’ve continued to obsessively research and found a few possible alternatives that are a bit slimmer/dressier that might better suit me - but I’m not sure I’ll find it at that same retailer, so I’m worried about getting locked in.