Forums Latest Members
  1. snick777 Dec 2, 2014

In America the ever growing trend is super-size, you find it in our food, our houses, our cars and now watches? I have been selling watches for a few years now. I have seen a trend in the market that suggests "bigger" is better (for sales anyway). I am sure it all started with a famous rapper showing off his "Jewels" on stage and escalated into Invicta watches that are too big to wear with anything. Small or petite watches designed for women are too small for them, my female customers prefer a mid size man's watch like the Cartier Tank's or a Rolex Datejust instead. Even watch manufactures are producing larger women's watches like the Michelle Caber Sport Sail watch. I find this very interesting. Any thoughts?

2. Privateday7 quotes Miss Universe Dec 2, 2014

I see a trend 5-10 years ago where supersize everything in watch happened. I think on top of the rappers, Arnie and Sly also popularize this trend.
    44, 48 even 51 mm become new watch size frontier (Omega produce hugely popular Planet Ocean 45mm. Even there is 48mm Railmaster XXL). However since 2012 the trend is reversing. AP Royal Oak offshore which hit 48mm with Arnold LE, now set 42mm as their standard. Omega also produce smaller size sport watches, culminated with popular SM300 reissue 38 or 39mm?). So I guess there is rationalization on what accepted as standard normal of watch size.

3. Tony C. Ωf Jury member Dec 2, 2014

This trend will change. As economies around the world stall and/or contract, buying and showing off big, unnecessary luxury items is likely to become less attractive to many consumers.

4. John R Smith Dec 2, 2014

An awful lot depends on the size of your wrist. I'm a little chap (5' 3") and anything over 38mm looks ridiculous on me. So the Omega vintage dress watches from the 1950s are just perfect, and I have no interest at all in large watches, old or new.

X350 XJR, gatorcpa and rhetoric like this.