Forums Latest Members
  1. GuiRo Sep 24, 2018

Hello Omega Fans!

I am a newbie in vintage watch collecting and recently discovered that my late grandpa's constellation (photo 1) had a redial. A pretty clear redial. I got frustrated and looked online to see if I could get an original one, with no success. Researching I came across this redialing workshop in Barcelona, Spain, that seems very reputable (family owned since 1908) - https://danafi.com

I am inclined to try and re-redial it, looking for a more original look. Any thoughts?

I tried looking online for the same dial (Omega Constellation CK 2852, cal 505, Stainless Steel Case, Rose Gold Indexes, Hands and Medallion) but couldn't find a good example.

I found a similar one that I believe has a white/cream finish (Photo 2).

What would be the original color for this dial? White/Cream, Silver? Is the finishing solid, brushed, sunburst? I am a bit lost here..

About the printing, I think that I got a pretty clear reference (Photo 3).

Thank you and godspeed!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Davidt Sep 24, 2018

So which is your watch - photo 1 or 3? I'm looking on my phone screen but I believe photo 3 is also a redial.

Do you have more pics of your watch? Head on, sides, rear etc.

GuiRo and noelekal like this.
  3. Vanallard Sep 24, 2018

I had a SMD refinished at Dial Craft (Canada) and was quite happy with their work. A good option if price is a consideration as Danafi is quite expensive.

F2C9847F-8F04-42DA-A79A-3E64AA96F6D8.jpeg
    GuiRo likes this.
  4. onthedial Sep 24, 2018

@GuiRo
    A redial is a redial regardless of the difference in quality. Personally I would wear yours as-is and consider it part of the watch's history. [Make sure to have it serviced properly before wearing it for daily use]. As you enjoy your heirloom, you can give more time to trying to source an origoinal, period correct dial (submit a WTB notice on various watch forums, keep checking eBay, etc).

GuiRo likes this.