Sharing something cool from work (coin/history/law related)

Evening all,

As some of you possibly know, my day job is in Comms and Marketing.

What you possibly don't know, is that the Comms and Marketing I do if for an almost 700 year old City of London institution for those working in precious metals (Jewellers, Silversmiths, and Goldsmiths), called The Goldsmiths' Company.

We're the place that Hallmarking (the process of testing items made out of precious metals, and applying marks that certify the what/when/where/who) began, and part of our remit is to ensure the quality of the coins that the Royal Mint produce - both for buying things in the shops, and as precious metal collectors items.

Each year, the mint submit coins to the Company for testing at the Trial of the Pyx - one of the oldest judicial processes in the world, and one of the oldest forms of consumer protection.

Last year, we brought a brilliant filmmaker in to make us a film of the Pyx, and today it is live:

https://www.thegoldsmiths.co.uk/com...l-of-the-pyx-775-years-of-consumer-protection

Very cool, very nerdy, beautifully shot, and probably a subject matter thats dipping into the wheelhouse of a few collectors here I suspect.

Brilliant. Thanks for posting

Thanks mate - that was excellent!

Love. It. I started collecting coins as a child. Many thanks for sharing, Chris!

Evening all,

As some of you possibly know, my day job is in Comms and Marketing.

What you possibly don't know, is that the Comms and Marketing I do if for an almost 700 year old City of London institution for those working in precious metals (Jewellers, Silversmiths, and Goldsmiths), called The Goldsmiths' Company.