Forums Latest Members

Servicing a Speedmaster Broad Arrow (3551.20.00) in NYC

1. dsacks30 Aug 5, 2019

Hi,

First-time post here, and unsure where to put this as the watch is not necessarily vintage (circa 2003), but I am in need of help and it seems as though many/all of the questions regarding servicing are put in this sub.

I have an Omega Speedmaster Broad Arrow (3551.20.00; https://www.omegawatches.com/watch-omega-speedmaster-broad-arrow-35512000) that is in need of servicing. It is a bit banged up - a few scratches on the crystal and it is missing one of the chrono pushers - but is still keeping fairly accurate time.

I took it into the Omega boutique on Fifth Ave in NYC to get an initial estimate, and they came back wanting $2,000 from me (50 percent of how much it would cost to get a new Broad Arrow on Chrono24). They quoted me $750 for the servicing, $606 to replace the crystal, and another $228 and $388 for two additional parts for the movement that they say is not included in the $750 servicing.

I read through the other threads here on servicing vintage watches in NYC, and am considering Grand Central Watch and Manhattan Time Services. I was also thinking about driving out to Manfredi in Greenwich and Hamilton in Princeton. Does anyone have any advice on who could do a good job servicing this piece? Is it worth taking to the folks at Analog/Shift?

This watch isn't worth a lot of money, but it has sentimental value to me, so I'd love to get it back up and running at full speed and would appreciate any advice or help! Thanks in advance.

2. FreelanceWriter Aug 5, 2019

Save yourself a lot of money and headaches and just send it to Official Time Watch in Utah for a free estimate. I posted their all-inclusive bill (roughly $700) to overhaul my FM 911 and restore the starburst case finish. I posted pictures of the watch and the paperwork in the FM thread.

3. MTROIS Aug 6, 2019