Forums Latest Members
  1. terryb111 Feb 1, 2016

Ok so I know this is not a valuable or even particularly nice watch but it belonged to my late grandfather. My Aunt gave me this in 2008 and it has been sat in a drawer until last night when i suddenly remembered I had it. I was expecting to see some real rubbish 15 or so year old quartz but was pleasantly surprised to find this. Now speaking to my Aunt last night she has informed me that my Grandfather purchased this when he was serving in Singapore so she dates it somewhere around 1960-70. She also told me it hasn't been worn since 2004 when my Grandfather passed, but he hardly took it off, as you can tell by how beaten up it is. As soon as i picked it up and moved it it sprung into life. What i want to do is to make it usable as i know my Aunt and my Mum would love to see me wearing it, I've ditched the horrible replacement bracelet that was on it and have ordered a brown leather Hirsch for it. I'm very new to watches.... so new I've never had anything serviced, is this something i should look to do or would they laugh me out of the shop? Also the plastic is so badly scratched you can barely see the face. I'm not looking for a restoration, just to make it usable, i don't mind having to spend a few quid on it even though I know its not worth it financially. Any suggestions would be welcome, also any info on the watch in general would be greatly received.

Cheers,

Terry

IMG_2108.JPG IMG_2109.JPG
    Mad Dog and Ericoh like this.
  2. terryb111 Feb 1, 2016

Zoomed out a bit

IMG_2108 (2).JPG
  3. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Feb 1, 2016

Nice clean, service and a new crystal. It will make a great watch to wear.
    You will be surprised how good it will come up.

Find a independent watchmaker that will do it. A lot of Seiko watchmakers on the web that are well respected by Seiko collectors. Someone here might know one in the UK