Forums Latest Members
  1. Hoodlum Jun 17, 2014

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg Got this from my uncle it says 14k gold filled but no other marking he said it had a inscription on the back but had it remove and re plated on the case back I can set the date with the crown push pull watch is keeping great time any clue on what year any help would be great Ty . Joe

2. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado Jun 17, 2014

Mid to late 1960s, possibly very early 70s.

3. Hoodlum Jun 17, 2014

Anybody else seem to have any clue as to year ?im new to this whole vintage watch thing . Ty

4. citizenrich Metal Mixer! Jun 17, 2014

I believe Omega began using onyx inlays around 1970 ish.

That's a replacement or polished out crown.

seamaster deville would have the hippo thingy before 1975ish (I think they made with and without for some time after). so if it had an inscription as your uncle claims then that helps date the watch. (Unless he referred tothe hippocampus as an inscription?). ?????

those straight lugs with bevel look mid 60's?

bottom line: GatorCPA knows all this stuff cold. He could probably tell u what month it was made just looking at it..

5. Hijak Jun 20, 2014

My guess is that this watch is from the mid to late 60s because of the case style and the date set feature type. Omega used black onyx inlays throughout the 60s possibly even earlier so you can't date the watch according to those. What I can tell you is that Omega started using the "Seamaster De Ville" name in 1963 so it's not older than that. Also because it does not have the Hippocampus on the back my guess is that the case is not swiss made. (Because gold was expensive to import in the 50s & 60s many export Swiss watches had the gold cases made in the destination county) Without seeing the movement serial number it's impossible to be more accurate, the serial number will date the watch to within a year or so.

citizenrich likes this.
  6. Hoodlum Jul 2, 2014