Forums Latest Members

Seamaster running slow - 90 seconds a day

1. nxw1969 Jan 7, 2015

Hi,

I have a Seamaster Pro that is in need of a service, as it hasnt had one for several years,
    but can any of the experts tell me what the symptoms shown in my watch point to.

It runs 4 seconds an hour slow and very consistently at that, losing just over a minute and a half a day.

I have only had the watch a few days, but was aware of that when I bought it, and got it for a price that allowed me to factor in a service.

I know this is a bit of a "how long is a piece of string" question, but does a very consistent 4 seconds an hour loss, point to anything in anyone experience?

Thanks
    Nick

2. nxw1969 Jan 7, 2015

It is the 3rd Gen "James Bond" watch by the way, full size auto

Seamaster.jpg
  3. Red Jan 7, 2015

"and got it for a price that allowed me to factor in a service."
    The only reputable Omega man I know (from having dealt with) is in NYC but the only important thing now is probably for you to get a few names to consider for having the watch serviced. What is wrong...like CrackerJack, there's always a surprise inside. Perhaps it is simply in gross need of a cleaning and lube, if you're lucky.

4. Red Jan 7, 2015

BTW, James always--and only--wore a Rolex, with a metal bracelet band, which could be slipped off the wrist and used as "brass knuckles". As per Mr. Fleming himself.

Omega has certainly grabbed a nice ride, but seriously, would you want to see your Omega used as brass knuckles? That might void the warranty.(G)

5. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jan 7, 2015

With the information you provided, it's impossible to give you a definitive answer. We would all just be guessing.

It could have received a hard knock and the regulator moved to a slow position, it could be very poorly regulated by some home watchmaker, or it could just need a service. It has to be looked at by someone who knows what they are doing to give you some additional information.