Forums Latest Members
  1. maghara Apr 8, 2019

Hey,

I am looking to buy my first vintage omega, and have come across this quartz seamaster.
    It seems to be in fairly good condition (at least cosmetically). I asked if all the parts were original, but the seller didn't know. He didn't know whether the movement is original, so I asked for pictures of it. If he sends me any I'll post them here.

The seller says the watch was recently "adjusted" (don't know what he means by this), and he has changed the battery.

My question is what a fair price for this watch is?
    It is listed for 400 USD (in Norway). I find this way too expensive for a quartz, but then again I am completely new to this and have no clue what a fair price would be...

All the pictures are taken from the listing on the Norwegian ebay, Finn.no.

This is my first post on the forum, so let any help is much appreciated.

1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg 5.jpg 6.jpg 7.jpg 8.jpg
  2. maghara Apr 8, 2019

Additional info from the seller:
    Cal 1342 with date
    Diameter; 35mm,
    Thickness; 9.5mm,
    Lug to lug: 41.4mm,
    Lug; 20mm

9.jpg 10.jpg 11.jpg
  3. guwipa Apr 8, 2019

Hi Maghara,

First, movement seems to be legit for a quartz Seamaster from that era (late 70th). It's a Cal 134xx and reference hereto is made here:

http://www.ranfft.de/cgi-bin/bidfun-db.cgi?00&ranfft&&2uswk&Omega_1343

Whether the watch is worse buying - i don't know. I am sure, on the long run, seller will find someone to buy it but why should you be the one?

It's goldplated and looks a bit old-fashioned but this only depends on individual taste (and could hinder you to flip the watch later on). More important for me is the watch being a quartzer and so you might run fifty-fifty to get lucky with it (in terms of durability/reliability).