Forums Latest Members
  1. Kriskris Mar 5, 2016

PSX_20160305_234102.jpg PSX_20160305_234035.jpg PSX_20160305_234015.jpg
  2. Garv no longer a member of the terminally hip Mar 5, 2016

You need an avatar- just sayin'
    What do you think and what has your research indicated?

3. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Mar 5, 2016

It's certainly a genuine Omega, however it has been polished heavily.

Not a problem if you aren't a "collector" and just want a wearer, and are willing to pay a very high price for it.

This seller has great photo skills, an unlimited supply of polishing compound and an inflated sense of value.

vintagelady, Tritium and Kriskris like this.
  4. Kriskris Mar 5, 2016

Thanks for the swift response.. avatar sorted.. just sayin'

Garv likes this.
  5. Kriskris Mar 5, 2016

Thanks Jim. Sounds like the price is too high in your opinion and over-polishing is not ideal if I'm interpreting your post correctly? Both fair points. I'm a complete newbie so if you're happy to, could you please elaborate on the polishing? Many thanks.

6. novina Mar 5, 2016

If you are considering collecting vintage watches, than over polishing is definitely a no no. Notice the case, it is shinny and bright, but did it come that way? The edges of of the lugs have been rounded badly, there was a crisp line there at one time. So basically, over polishing removes the original contours of the case. Also I bought a ladies Omega, not a Ladymatic, but a manual wind, paid all of $90 USD. Ever with service and a very light polish and clean, I can be into this watch for less than $400 USD and have a beautiful watch. Note to self, do not buy a watch for the wife unless she picks it out herself, never ends well ::facepalm2::. Good thing it was cheap.

7. Kriskris Mar 5, 2016