Forums Latest Members
  1. Angus Apr 8, 2013

Hi!
    Just bought this piece from an antique dealer (who seems fairly respectable), but I'm not quite sure if it's the real deal. Being a complete novice when it comes to watches, I'm an extremely easy prey… I started looking through all the photos I could find on the internet just trying to establish around what year the watch could have been manufactured, but I couldn't find an exact match for it, which made me a bit curious. Not wanting to break open the watch to check for the serial number, I wonder if it’s possible to reach a "verdict" from the externally visible data:
    Text on the watch face:
    Omega
    Automatic
    Seamaster
    Swiss Made

Casing: steel
    Face: grey-silverish colour with a nacre touch to it
    Dial: double bars on 3, 6, 9, 12, single bar on the others
    Crown: Omega logo
    Movement: the hand showing the seconds seems to be making about 4 stops/second

I found pictures of some similar watches, but either the text doesn't match or the hands are more pointed, there's a calendar function, the lugs are thicker and have a different angle, the casing is golden, the dial is white, the bars on the dial is more pointed and so on…
    I would be very grateful for some expert advice! Is it real, fake or perhaps put together out of surplus parts? I really like the watch, but if it’s not a genuine piece I should perhaps go back to the dealer for a serious discount…
    IMG1.JPG IMG2.JPG IMG3.jpg

2. ulackfocus Apr 8, 2013

It's real. It's an early to mid 60's front loading (meaning the dial and movement come out the front after the crystal and bezel are removed) watch. Probably a reference 166.020 or similar with a 55x caliber inside.

3. Dablitzer Apr 8, 2013

Looks real and quite nice to me. Had one similar, "precurser" to the De ville with large Seamonster logo in 18k before, loved it.

4. AJDay Apr 8, 2013