Forums Latest Members
  1. Mike_B Jul 4, 2016

Hello fellow members.

thank you for taking the time to read my post, I am new to Omega watches although I have collected watches on and off all my life. Mainly new watches between £100-£200 UK mark.
    Now found a new lease of life looking at vintage watches. I have obtained a black faced Seamaster Cosmic with date.
    model 166.026 tool 107. I am lead to believe this is a 565 movement. Watch is in fairly good condition but I have no history for it but it cost me £250.00 which I think was a reasonable price for me to punt at.
    Now I have some questions that I am hoping some of you much more knowledgeable members can help me with if you would be so kind.
    Please see photos attached (not best quality from my phone)

First one could be fairly easy! Straps, this watch came with a reproduction Omega strap that I find completely awful. I would like to have a few straps for this watch but lug to lug measures 19mm. can anyone advise the best place to find decent straps of this "rare" size. I would not mind trying a bracelet or even a mesh one but they are all 18 or 20mm. not sure the 18 would look right.

At some point this watch has lost its crown and split stem, it has been replaced with what appears to be a standard one which to me is completely wrong. crown does not fit flush. Now I have done much research trying to find the spare parts required and have not had much success, My belief is its a tap 9 crown thread. I have seen for sale on Ofrei.com a stem that you can cut to required length but these guys are in the USA. Cousins I am very confused with but I did find something on redroosteruk.com shows this number 081ST9993. Can anyone please advise which stem & crown I would need. ( I am thinking I can fix this problem myself - I am in Engineering so have the ability to cut the small stem)