Forums Latest Members
  1. bstmastr Dec 27, 2018

Hi All, I have an Omega Seamaster Co-axial Chronometer, about 10 years old which stopped working. Apparently the spring broke and a few "wheels" also need fixing. Estimate is 1200 to fix this. Considering the watch was ~$3500-$4000, any ideas on how to get this fixed for less and is it worth it? Any ideas how this could occur? Thanks so much. what amazes me is that I have my grandfather's Omega which is 40 years old and works perfectly without having any maintenance
    Thanks so much, i appreciate the the info.

2. italy1861 Dec 27, 2018

40 years old with no maintenance?

Duckie and Archer like this.
  3. Lbreak Dec 28, 2018

10 years old should be still within the "modern" range, I think it shouldn't cost that much if you send it to Omega. They will replace all damaged parts and restore it to factory spec

4. Donn Chambers Dec 28, 2018

As others have said, that quoted price is far too high for a standard service. According to Omega’s website:

https://www.omegawatches.com/custom...s-and-prices/main-steps-of-a-complete-service

The price for a steel mechanical watch is only $550, and it will come with a 2-year warranty.

Are there other items being replaced (dials, bezels, crystal, bracelet)? If so, these can jack up the price and generally none of these HAVE to be replaced. Is this a local watchmaker giving you this repair quote? Or is it a jeweler store with no onsite watchmaker? If the latter, I’ve heard stories of jewelers sending the watch to Omega for the repair, then charging extra for their “handling”. If this is the case, that’s a lot of “handling” fees.

In any case, it’s not that complicated to send the watch to an Omega service center directly and cut out the middleman.

Lbreak likes this.
  5. JeremyS Dec 28, 2018