Forums Latest Members
  1. azpatina Oct 10, 2015

I'm new to the vintage Omegas. I've been doing my homework around this forum and also reading other places on the web.

I have found a Seamaster 300 that I'm interested in purchasing. The only problem is the year on the caseback is stamped "67" and the serial number on the movement is "28.xxx.xxx" which would normally be associated with 1969. From my homework, it seems as though the general consensus is that because of the way Omega assembled their watches back then, if watch parts are within a 1-2 year range of the manufacture year of the watch it is likely that it could be original.

Could this be the case with this 1967 watch and 69 movement or am is it just wishful thinking?

2. Georgieboy58 Oct 11, 2015

I don't know about Seamaster 300 case backs, but for speedmasters it's not unusual that their production date is years later than the date stamped in the case back.

3. the future Oct 11, 2015

How does the rest of it look? Is all of the lume consistent? Do any parts look significantly newer than others? If it all looks consistent, it's unlikely to be a franken in my opinion. Maybe you could post some pictures?

4. azpatina Oct 11, 2015

Here are some pics. To my novice eyes, it looks pretty consistent.

1.png 2.JPG 3.JPG 4.JPG 5.JPG 6.JPG 7.JPG 8.JPG
  5. Commander D Oct 12, 2015

I too am a novice but aside from the braclet the watch appears to my untrained eye to be original.

6. ricardorio Oct 12, 2015

I have the same. Case Ref 165024 looks unpolished. , movement 565 is correct. Dial, hands and crown looks original and in beautifull shape !!!.Bracelet is Omega franken from 90´s decade. To be absollutelly secure here there is more experts than me !!!

7. ChrisN Oct 12, 2015