Forums Latest Members

Seamaster 300 CK 2913-6 advice urgently needed please

1. Kevin Burke Feb 14, 2019

Hi Folks,

First thing to say is that I'm no expert - just got hooked by the watch game about a year ago, and have a couple of beautiful watches - a new PP Aquanaut and recent JLC Grand Reverso.

Recently I've been looking for a birth-year watch, with a modest budget of say 2-5 grand. I was born in 1959 and,with an 8-inch wrist, am finding it frustrating that the vast majority of nice simple clean top-brand watches are too small for me (35 mm typically).

Anyhoo... I came across a really lovely CK 2913-6, which will cost me about $10k if I pull the trigger - and I would LOVE any opinion. Size-wise it is a more reasonable 39 mm - so will look great on my wrist. However, the budget is quite big for me, as I have already spent quite a lot in the past year. This hobby can be expensive, am I right ;-)

The thing to know before I get to the condition is this: I'm not looking to buy an investment exactly, I'm looking to buy a beautiful watch to join my rotation. I've don't expect to sell it - but I DON'T want to overpay, at least not by too much.

OK, so now to the watch. The key thing to say is that it has been cleaned up by Omega, and that's what my concern is. I know the mantra is to not touch old watches - but I'm personally OK with a tastefully cleaned watch ...just not if the value has been decimated by it. One day I may want to sell it - and I would like to think I'd get most of my money back.

My concerns are principally with the following changes. While BEAUTIFULLY executed BY OMEGA in Geneva, what does it mean to the value of the watch - as I say, it will cost me 10 grand.

* Lume and dial face in general was left alone, but the Numbers (at least) were re-painted.
    * Hands were replaced (old ones will be supplied - but may be unusable).
    * The Bakelite bezel was re-done (completely fabricated?) by Omega.
    * Case was polished.