Seamaster 1948: deal or no deal

Evening all,

I’m fighting an urge to buy a Seamaster 1948 (without the small seconds hand) and am seeking some OF wisdom.

I can pick one up new from an AD for $6,800 (including two OEM leather straps and a NATO). Maybe as low as $6,100 if they are willing to negotiate.

Not sure how available these still are, or whether it’s considered a desirable limited edition. I just love the simplicity of the classic design.

The alternative is to pick up a vintage Omega of a similar classic style. I’m new to this game And would appreciate any thoughts or opinions.

Like 7
I have the small seconds version, and it's one of the gems of my collection. This is a model that will hold its value better than many other Omega models, and its versatility should make it a distinctive addition to your watch box (that's certainly true of mine). As far as availability is concerned, these are becoming harder to find, especially at the kind of price you mentioned. If you can negotiate the deal you're talking about, you shouldn't leave it on the shelf.

Like 2
I have the small seconds version, and it's one of the gems of my collection. This is a model that will hold its value better than many other Omega models, and its versatility should make it a distinctive addition to your watch box (that's certainly true of mine). As far as availability is concerned, these are becoming harder to find, especially at the kind of price you mentioned. If you can negotiate the deal you're talking about, you shouldn't leave it on the shelf.

Thank you for the insight. I love the small seconds version as well - and if given the choice I would find it difficult to pick. The AD only has one left (without the small seconds) so at least I don’t have that headache!

Like 2
If I walked into an AD and they still had a new one it would leave on my wrist. Its one of the few modern pieces on my current want-list.

Like 5