Forums Latest Members

Restoring an Oyster Bracelet 93253 18k/SS that has Stretched help

1. Bayrat Jan 3, 2021

I own a Submariner Rolex, Blue Face 16613 18k/SS with Serial Number P84XXXX, which was made in 2000. Bracelet Number 93253 18k/SS. I need to restore the Rolex Oyster bracelet that has stretched over the 20 years. I am a novice at “watch repair” but I am good with tools and fixing things. I am thinking of tackling this task on my own. I think I can do it with some help from the pros on this forum. I was hoping, more like rolling the dice, I would not need to do any Gold soldering for this restoration job. If I need this service, I will figure it out at the time.

I think the tools I will need are an “Oyster Link Remover Tool” that disassembles the pressure fit link for Rolex Oyster bracelets. A good quality watch repair tool kit with different types of plyers. A Metal Band Link Pusher Vice, to press the links back together. A Digital Vernier Micrometer Caliper Measuring Tool for measuring the exact size of Double Serrated End Link (DSEL) Pins. There are a few places online to purchase the tools. The prices range from $150 - $450+ for each of the puller and vice tool. The cheaper puller and vice tools are direct ship from China via Aliexpress.

The Rolex Oyster band are held together with 4 pressure fit links on each side of the watch case, a total of 8 pressure links on the entire bracelet. The replacement pins, again, are called a Double Serrated End Link (DSEL) Pin. I don’t know the size of the DSL pins for the 93253 bracelet. I have read the DSL pins are 1.2mm x a range from 16mm- 20mm long???