Forums Latest Members
  1. Civic4982 Jul 27, 2019

I feel quite lucky to stumble upon a well worn Ploprof.

It happens to be the same one declined by another OF member.

I’m not new to vintage watches but I am new to this big beautiful beast, the Ploprof.

I try to never swap dial or hands unless they’re really unusable. In this case the seconds hand is missing it’s lume so I may consider reluming it to match,myself. The dial has a scratch In two locations 6:45 to 10:00 positions and 10:00 to 10:30 positions. Additionally some of the lume has come off in various areas over the years. I frankly don’t mind it at all. I do not believe it has been relumed however some of the lume has clearly come off. I’m of the belief that the dial is original. Hour hand has a hole in the lume. Not touching that.

E16C2C84-D3F5-4B52-9D9C-3D7389C76541.jpeg

FFFE9F3F-AEC2-43C1-92D7-128E64ACAC18.jpeg

The crystal is very usable and provides
    Clear visibility. There’s a healthy scratch in the right upper quadrant on it though and I may swap it.

Barely visible here:

81AC45C1-65A3-46D7-8DEB-9F267367B955.png

The prior owner posted that the communications he had with the seller suggested the crown was replaced. The action is good and proceed without any give. I do not suspect it has been recently replaced as it has appropriate wear.

C0DA23B3-E465-40CB-9E99-997EA8C55119.jpeg

A friend has created some beautiful plastic red crown screws for this model and so I’m veeeeery tempted to put one in. It would be a bit silly as it’s not true to the item but hell... it’s my watch right?

The bezel insert is f***** beautiful. I won’t do anything to it except stare at it and dream about its glow.

A138531E-397E-4B63-A702-830A4A69E1B8.jpeg

I’m lucky that this movement is doing great. I’ve heard they can be challenging to find parts on.

256477DC-AF51-4829-A644-E12916D68239.jpeg

It’s got a great OE bracelet and strap. 1162 with 162 end links with minimal stretch.