Forums Latest Members
  1. propervinyl Apr 10, 2017

Hi forum members, I am posting to ask for your advice on an ebay transaction gone wrong.

As a bit of background, I have been collecting watches for more than ten years, and have occasionally bought and sold on ebay, never experiencing any problems at all.

I recently purchased a watch from a seller on ebay. According to the item description, the watch was being sold by the original owner, and had stopped working at some point and required service. A later update to the listing mentioned that the watch was actually working, but had not been serviced in a while.

Upon receiving the watch, it was clear that it had suffered water damage that was never disclosed.

While I never specifically asked about water damage, I did send a message asking about damage or discoloration to the dial. He said there was not. However, upon inspection, I have found some spotting and what I can only describe as a "bubble where the dial finish is raised.

In considering the auction, I assumed that, as it was being sold by the original owner, significant damage would be disclosed. In this case it was not. Instead, the seller mentioned only that the watch hadn't been serviced, and that one was required. Accordingly, I have opened a claim that the item was not as described, due to this omission.

I have offered to work with the seller to find a solution, but he has refused.

Does anyone have advice for how to approach this situation? Have you ever been in a similar situation?

Thanks so much for any advice you may be able to provide,

David

http://www.ebay.com/itm/142320178084?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:ITPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

2. Tony C. Ωf Jury member Apr 10, 2017