Forums Latest Members
  1. JohannesFact May 30, 2012

I am a complete newbie at this ... but I'm looking to make my first vintage Omega watch purchase (something from the 40s or 50s, like the 2516; or a Constellation, which my Dad and grandfather wore).

As I live in a somewhat rural area, I'd like to find a reputable dealer online - if such a thing exists. To that end, I'd be grateful for any recommendations and/or cautions.

Thanks for your time,

Seth

2. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member May 31, 2012

I don't know if anyone here has a dealer that they use on a regular basis that could be recommended. I do know of several very reputable dealers in locations around the world. The main thing that they have in common is that their prices range from very high to ridiculous. I guess that's OK when you only plan on buying one vintage watch.

Most of the regulars in this forum prefer to buy "barn finds" on eBay or through private contacts and then have their own watchmakers do the necessary fix-ups. It's a lot more fun that way...

...and cheaper, too! :D
    gatorcpa

3. ulackfocus May 31, 2012

Hi Seth. I've bought from Andy at Old World Jewelers but not any Omegas. I do know a couple members of other forums who have bought Speedmasters from him and were very satisfied. If I'm looking for a particular watch I'd rather do my own hunting like gatorcpa said. Searching the other forums' sale sections usually is a decent way to find reasonably priced watches that are mostly (not always) original and well cared for.

4. JohannesFact May 31, 2012

Thanks ulackfocus and gatorcpa,

You're right, "barn finds" sound like a lot more fun ... as for eBay, have you encountered a lot of fakes online? No doubt new watches are routinely faked, but what about vintage models?

Thanks again for your guidance. Much appreciated.

Seth

5. kyle L Grasshopper Staff Member May 31, 2012