Forums Latest Members
  1. picknick Aug 26, 2016

I have a Omega Speedmaster Professional which I inherited from my father who I believe bought it in the late 1960's. He wore it every day of his life and I have started wearing it now.

I notice now though it is in need of some repair as I have trouble winding it. I took it to a local jewellery shop that sells and repairs Omegas. The guy had a look at it and said it would have to be sent to Switzerland to be repaired as this model is not repaired in Canada. Said it would cost at least about C$1500 not including any parts that may need replacing and take a few months.

The history that I can recall is that my father bought it new in the US and had it repaired at least once by Omega in Switzerland when he was there. It's been a quite reliable watch, but like anything with moving pieces I assume it needs some lubrication and replacement of worn parts. The strap is not the original and the original box and purchase receipt are long gone.

The bezel has taken a few knocks over the years but that to me is part of its history. I guess they could replace it with a new one if it improved the resale value, but at this point I have no plans to sell.

So I am looking for advice if it is worth fixing and do I need to insure this watch and if so for how much. Would you replace the bezel too?

I will post some pictures. I haven't had the back opened up. Would that help in making a decision, if so, is that some thing I would take to a watch shop to open the back and take a few pictures? I live in the Toronto area, any place people would recommend to get a repair or appraisal.

Thanks for any advice.

IMG_0314.jpg IMG_0320.jpg IMG_0318.jpg
    scundo likes this.
  2. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Aug 26, 2016

Killer watch!!!

The price seems high even for a 321 movement repair, perhaps someone here can recommend a Canadian watchmaker. Although I am pretty sure it is an 861 movement which is easier to repair.