Forums Latest Members

Removing Valjoux 730 movement

1. JetLinks Feb 25, 2021

Calling all Valjoux & Wakmann experts....

I need a bit of help figuring out how to release the 730 movement from my recently acquired Wakmann housing? The hour counter hands has popped off and it needs reattaching. I've got the stem out but this one isn't as obvious as my 321 or 1040. Many thanks in advance.

PXL_20210130_050601366.jpg

2. JetLinks Mar 1, 2021

Anyone able to assist?

3. mzinski Mar 1, 2021

I’ll qualify my response with, I’m a hobbyist and not a watchmaker, I haven’t worked on this particular movement/watch, but I’ve worked on quite a few vintage chronos. Others like @Archer or @Canuck are far better suited to provide expert opinions on this matter. But I’ll weigh in with my two cents anyways.
    I would put the crown in winding position, unscrew this screw 1-1/2 turns +/-, and pull the stem/crown out once it’s released.
    E21220E7-94CB-4AED-B33F-C43441948F36.jpeg
    It looks like the movement retaining tabs are all ready removed so I’d expect the movement to fall out when turned over or given a gentle tap.
    EBF8866E-4EF6-4A3D-91D9-DBFE84934B07.jpeg

wsfarrell likes this.
  4. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Mar 1, 2021

No dial side photos, but if as you say the stem is already out, and the clamps have been removed, if it doesn’t come out the back it may need to come out the front after removing the bezel or crystal.

5. JetLinks Mar 1, 2021

@mzinski Thanks very much for the tips and crown is already out (and no retaining screws) hence my confusion for the Valjoux movement not moving?!?

Dial side pics for @Archer (pre loss of small hour hand) and the help is very much appreciated!

PXL_20210201_220132657.jpg
  6. mzinski Mar 1, 2021

Sorry - misunderstood your first post.

Take a look at this removal. Yours looks very similar.

JetLinks and wsfarrell like this.
  7. JetLinks Mar 2, 2021