Forums Latest Members

Recommendations for my first chronograph

1. Ziggy_Stardust Dec 18, 2017

So I've been looking for the past 6 months on and off for a vintage chronograph. I'm so very new to the watch collecting game and having just changed careers, money is a little more tight then I'm used to.

My grail watch would be a stainless Rolex Daytona but man am I so far away from being able to spend that kind of money on myself, wife would kill me.

I would be able to spend around $400 on my first chronograph however I'm not sure what that would get me. I would like a Valjoux movement based watch but something vintage.

I would appreciate any guidance the senior guys here in pointing me in the right direction. Again I'm very new to watch collecting.

Cheers!

2. Larry S Color Commentator for the Hyperbole. Dec 18, 2017

Gotta say ... You want a Datona but your budget is $400 ... you are talking chrome plated no name brand... if that. Timex has some nice watches for under $200. Do some research and you will discover how unrealistic your vintage budget is. Not worth it.

3. BenBagbag Dec 18, 2017

Good luck. Just a heads up that it generally costs at least $400 just to service a vintage chronograph. So even if you found a watch you may have to pay that amount just to service it...

Ziggy_Stardust and Larry S like this.
  4. Ziggy_Stardust Dec 18, 2017

Thank you for your quick reply. Yes my grail watch is a Daytona however that is not a possibility at this point in my life...one day though :)
    I'm not too concerned with brand name watches so long as the movement is a good quality one for my first chrono.

5. Ziggy_Stardust Dec 18, 2017

I never considered that to be honest. A fantastic point

6. Larry S Color Commentator for the Hyperbole. Dec 18, 2017

I want a Daytona too but not willing to sell half my collection to do it. Chronographs got real hot over the last few years.

Ziggy_Stardust likes this.
  7. Speedy_Gonzales Dec 18, 2017