Forums Latest Members

Recommendation on where to overhaul

1. keita Sep 6, 2014

I have a 90s (I believe) seamaster with caliber 1120 that I want serviced/overhauled.

I live in the Portland oregon area and I don't seem to be able to find a watchmaker locally so I will have to ship it somewhere. I did look at nearby places like chronodeco, who told me doesn't really work on post 80s watch. Nesbit in Seattle quoted me $635 for my 70s caliber 1012 seamaster and that new ones are a "little less", which seems just as expensive as sending it to omega.

I know that some members are watchmakers here. I would greatly appreciate any recommendations on a shop that can do my overhaul including cleaning, pressure test, etc for a reasonable price.
    -keita[​IMG][​IMG]

2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Sep 7, 2014

Not sure what you consider a reasonable price, but pretty much any watchmaker should be able to service this for you.

3. g-boac Sep 7, 2014

I can HIGHLY recommend Al Archer (Archer). He has serviced SEVERAL Omega watches for me, both modern and vintage, and this includes two vintage calibre Ω321 Omega Speedmaster Professionals.

Al's technical knowledge and communication are outstanding. You receive a FULL service report, documented with photographs, of service performed.

If you visit his website, www.archerwatches.ca, you will note that he is a Watchmaker, in the true, correct sense of the word: not only servicing watches, but building unique pieces.

You will find the highest level of endorsement, from many of the most discerning Omega enthusiasts, for Al on both this and other forums. Other independent options exist as well; Nesbit's which you mentioned is one of them.