Forums Latest Members

RE: Advice on SM300 Co-axial

1. lecorbusier Jul 22, 2015

Hello everyone. I am Jeff and this is my first post in this forum. This forum struck me--when compared to a few other forums centered on the watch hobby (!)--as extremely cordial and supportive. I don't own an Omega--yet--but recently and perhaps because of too much online surfing, I have been struck by the ephemeral beauty of vintage seamasters (and even speedmasters) on vintage leather straps. There is something robust, and quite beyond words, about these watches.

I did some research and came to the newly release SM300 co-axial either in SS or Ti. However, a visit to the boutique reveals that the watch in bracelet form is too clunky for my wrist and so I requested to be informed when the version with the leather strap arrives. As I am new to this brand, I hope the forum participants here can enlighten me on a few questions:

1. I am stunned by the high price of Omegas, and especially the price difference between the PO and the SM300 Co-axial. While I understand that like many high-street brands, Omega has also gone into the deep end of marketing, I still don't quite understand the high price point for a SS diver. In your opinion, what are the merits of the SM300 Co-axial and in tandem, should I source for this watch in the used market, rather than to purchase new? (I predict the price is likely to be lower after a few years).