Forums Latest Members
  1. DIV Apr 21, 2016

i have an incoming 39mm Railmaster reissue which comes with the broad arrow MINUTE hand:
    [​IMG]
    Yes, it's a great watch as is, but I am a huge fan of the original vintage configuration with the broad arrow HOUR hand:
    [​IMG]
    Has anyone completed or attempted a hand swap to this desired look?
    As the modern RM uses a 2500 caliber movement, I suppose the Planet Ocean hands would fit(?), even though it's not quite the same (it has lume on the stem), but also, I would need a non-arrow Dauphine minute hand...where would I get that?
    Otto Frei has these for example:
    http://www.ofrei.com/omega-watch-hands-caliber-2500.html

I would appreciate any help or comments, including a "don't even think about it, dummy!...keep it original and not a Franken!..."

2. meganfox17 Apr 21, 2016

Dear @DIV

You have waaayyyy...too much time on your hands....[​IMG]

I'm keeping my fingers crossed for Baselworld 2017 commemorating the 60th Anniversary of the Omega Triumvirate of Masters

Syrte likes this.
  3. tyrantlizardrex Apr 21, 2016

The seamaster 300 reissue is pretty close to the look you want... but I've no idea of the hands will fit the movement.

[​IMG]

You could spend a chunk of time/money trying to achieve a look that you might not be happy with... maybe think on this a little more before going too deep down the rabbit hole. ;)

4. DIV Apr 21, 2016

Yes, I need to hear more words of discouragement....really. As much as I want my "perfect Railmaster (which may never exist, let's face it), I would prefer to avoid any "Franken-watch projects.

5. tyrantlizardrex Apr 21, 2016

How about waiting until it arrives. Wear it. See if you gel with it. See if the hands are really an issue.

You may be chasing a unicorn. ;)

6. DIV Apr 21, 2016