Forums Latest Members
  1. PHPHD Oct 21, 2015

Hi,

I'm sort of new to the vintage Longines world - I'm wondering if anyone had thoughts on this piece?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The case numbers match the movement, though there are a few more things I'm concerned with, amongst the fact that this listing has been around since ~2012.

1) A medical dial in a military case? It reminds me of the romanian air force case that Christies auctioned off a while back, but that was a black dial. Yet the serial numbers sort of coincide with the romanian ones.
    2) The thing that looks right is, the fonts and print seem to match other medical Longines 13zn dials that came up on the net (attached).
    3) Hands are obviously relumed, and I can't seem to tell what the dial's original color was? Could it be a serious 'patina-ed' white?

Would love to hear any experts' thoughts on this piece.

Thanks

longines.png lista_4.jpg
  2. Fer Seamaster Oct 22, 2015

I am not a Longines expert (in fact, I am not an expert on anything), but, for me, it is clear movement and case are legit. Hands I think are a replacement, not simply relumed, but I am not sure. What makes my eye suspect a lot is crystal and bezel, which a have a condition wich does not match the condition of either the case or the pushers, which are much more worn. I tend to think crystal and bezel are a later replacement.

3. PHPHD Oct 22, 2015

I see - thanks! Any idea on the dial? I've never seen another dial like this and that both excites me and freaks me out.

4. minutenrohr Oct 23, 2015