Forums Latest Members

Question for the experts on parts exchange

1. slater529 Jun 1, 2018

I have an Omega Seamaster Polaris that I bought brand new back in 1987. It's been through a lot with me and has a great deal of sentimental value. A little over a year ago, the pin that attaches the bracelet to the case came out and was lost. When I took it in to get a new pin installed, the repairman pointed out that the hole in the case where the pin goes had some 'tear out' and he advised against putting in a new pin as it would just pull out again.

So anyway, I'm on the hunt for a replacement case with "good" bracelet pin holes, and transfer my movement and bracelet over to the replacement.

Today I found a Polaris Titane case with a broken 1430 movement being sold at a good price 'for parts or repair'. My question is this: Will my 1445 movement (from a SS Polaris) fit in a Titane Polaris case?

2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jun 2, 2018

Please provide case numbers of both cases...

slater529 likes this.
  3. slater529 Jun 2, 2018

I'm afraid I don't know the case number of mine. I'll have to take somewhere and have it opened up. As for the the Titane... I contacted the seller and requested the number. His photo of the back cover wasn't readable.

Thanks for responding... I'll get back to you with the information as soon as I can!

4. Meme-Dweller Jun 2, 2018

How big is the chip/"tear out" on the inner lug hole? Pics? Maybe it could be repaired with some laser welding instead of needing an entire case replacement.

marco and slater529 like this.
  5. TDBK Jun 2, 2018

Is it viable to do laser welding to build up that location, then redrill a clean hole?

6. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Jun 2, 2018

Yes as re drilling will make the bracelet line up wrong.

7. slater529 Jun 2, 2018

Here is a photo of the tear out...

TN-0941.jpg

The other side looks ok...

TN-0942.jpg

My watch...

TN-0943.jpg